Further information

Contact IT support

IS provides full IT support to most central admin sections as well as to some faculty areas. Other areas  supported by local IT Support Staff.

Confirm your PC is managed by IS by looking for a label bearing the letters ACS, ADM or ITS,followed by a number, on your computer.

The Email and Calendaring Service allows staff to delegate mailbox and calendar access to a staff representative. Delegates may be granted access to manage your Email, as well as making and accepting appointments on your behalf. A shared calendar can make it easier for colleagues to organise appointments, as well as letting people know where you are and the time you expect to be back in the office.

To delegate mailbox or calendar access:

  1. Click "File"
  2. Select "Acount Settings"
  3. Select "Delegate Access"

Once you have the Delegate access open this is where you can grant access to your Mailbox and Calendar as shown below;

  1. Click "Add"
  2. Find the person you wish to give access to (In this example, "Shane Butler" is the person who will be receiving the access)
  3. Select the name from the Address List
  4. Click the "Add" button
  5. Ensure that the person's name appears
  6. Select "Ok"


  7. The next step is to select the appropriate level of access for the user who needs access to the Mailbox or Calendar.
  8. For a mailbox:

    For a Calendar:

Refer to the section on Delegate Permissions for a full break down on what each level of access grants.

Delegate options explained

There are several different options available for delegation in Outlook. It is useful to familiarise yourself with these if you are delegating your calendar or mailbox to another person, or if you are the appointed delegate.

Delegate receives copies of meeting-related messages sent to me

This allows copies of meeting requests sent to you to be sent to your delegate*. Further options are available on the previous screen which will be discussed below.

*It is important to note that if this option is not removed when your delegate leaves the University – bounce messages will be generated after their email account has been disabled.

Meeting request delegation options

If you have opted to have your delegate receive a copy of your meeting requests, there are three options available that determine the workflow of these:

  • My delegates only, but send a copy – the default and recommended option. All meeting requests will go to the appointed delegate(s), however a copy will go to the invitee. This ensures that they are able to manage their calendar if the delegate is unavailable to do so.
  • Delegate Only – Only the delegate will receive meeting requests. This can be useful if you wish your delegate to act as the gate keeper for appointments, and only want to see what is accepted into your calendar, however it is important to note that if your delegate leaves or is unavailable, you will not be able to accept meeting requests.
  • My delegates and me – Both your delegate and you will receive meeting requests, and both may accept or refuse meeting requests. This requires careful coordination but may be the best solution if you wish to share this responsibility

Delegate can see my private items

This determines whether or not Delegates can view your private items in their view of your Calendar.

You can set any appointment in your calendar as private by right clicking on it and selecting Private, or by selecting the Private option while creating the appointment (on the appointment ribbon).

Adding delegate permissions directly from your calendar

You may also manage your calendar permissions from the calendar itself.

  • Switch to Calendar View
  • Locate your calendar on the left hand side under My Calendars
  • Right click your Calendar and select Properties from the context menu
  • Click the "Permissions" tab
    1. Click "Add" to add a delegate from UWA Address List
    2. Use the "Permissions Level" drop down to set a permissions profile
    3. Use the radio button under Read, Write, Delete and Other to set a custom profile
    4. Click "Ok" to apply changes when done

Common permission levels

Below is a list of common permission levels that are available within Microsoft Outlook

To remove someone's access from your calendar

When a staff member leaves your area or you no longer wish to share your calendar with someone, you should remove their access from your calendar.

  • Switch to Calendar View
  • Locate your calendar on the left hand side under My Calendars
  • Right click your Calendar and select Properties from the context menu
  • Click the "Permissions" tab
  • Now do the following:
    1. Select the person you wish to remove
    2. click the "Remove" button
    3. Click "Ok" to save changes and exit.

To remove a delegate

  1. Click "File"
  2. Select "Account Setting"
  3. Select "Delegate Access"
  4. Select the user who's access you wish to remove
  5. Click on the "Remove" button
  6. Click "Ok" and the access will be removed

To open a shared calendar

  1. Go to the Calendar view using the left-hand navigation pane.
  2. Click "Open Calendar" on the Home Ribbon
  3. Choose "From Address Book"
  4. Begin typing the name of the calendar or individual who's calendar you wish to open in the Search field, and when you find the calendar you wish to open, select it from the address list
  5. Press OK. The calendar will appear on the left, under "Shared Calendars".